Choosing a system
Toast vs Square for restaurants: what we could verify, and when not to switch
Square publishes US restaurant plans at $0, $49 and $149 per location a month; Toast's pricing pages didn't open for us. What compares, and when not to switch.
WaiterPilot Research
Updated , 8 min read
The short answer
Square publishes US restaurant plans at $0, $49 and $149 per location a month, plus card fees, with QR code ordering on the paid plans. Toast's pricing pages didn't open for us on 15 or 16 October 2026. Both sell table QR ordering inside their own POS. If your till works, you may not need either to add table ordering.
Key points
- Square for Restaurants (US): Free $0, Plus $49 and Premium $149 per location per month, with QR code ordering on Plus and Premium, as published on 15 October 2026.
- We could not read a Toast price on Toast's own site; its help center describes Mobile Order & Pay in detail but gives no price.
- Both put table ordering inside their own POS: Toast fires orders through a designated Toast device, and Square sends them to the POS and kitchen printers.
- Neither describes ordering in the guest's own language on the pages we read; Toast says menu names and items are not translated on its devices.
- If your till works, you can add table ordering next to it instead of switching POS, at the cost of re-keying orders.
On this page
Square publishes its US restaurant plans: Free at $0, Plus at $49 and Premium at $149 per location per month, plus card fees, with QR code ordering on the two paid plans. Toast does not publish a price we could read: its pricing pages returned an error to our checker on 15 and again on 16 October 2026, and its help center gives no figure. Both sell table QR ordering as part of their own POS. So the honest comparison is narrower than most “Toast vs Square” pages suggest, and it ends with a question many owners skip: do you need to switch POS at all? If your till works and what you want is table ordering, there are ways to add it without either.
How do Toast and Square compare?
Short answer: on the facts both companies publish, they are similar in shape and very different in how much they tell you up front.
Everything below comes from each company’s own pages, as published on 15 October 2026. We have not used either POS.
| Toast | Square for Restaurants | |
|---|---|---|
| Published price (US) | Not readable on Toast’s site on 15 or 16 Oct 2026 | Free $0, Plus $49, Premium $149 per location per month |
| Card fees (US) | Not published on pages we read | In person 2.6%+15¢ / 2.5%+15¢ / 2.4%+15¢; online 3.3%+30¢ / 2.9%+30¢ / 2.9%+30¢ (Free / Plus / Premium) |
| Trial and cancelling | Not stated on pages we read | 30-day free trial on Plus and Premium; “you can cancel or switch plans anytime” |
| Table QR ordering | Mobile Order & Pay: guests scan a per-table code, browse, order and pay | Self-serve ordering: per-table codes open your Square Online ordering page; on Plus and Premium |
| How orders reach the kitchen | A designated auto-firing Toast device; items follow your print routing to printers or KDS | To the POS and kitchen printers; orders from the same table combine into one ticket |
| Guest payment on the phone | Card with Click to Pay, Apple Pay (not when tabs are on), Toast gift cards | Apple Pay, Google Pay, Square Pay |
| Group ordering | Guests can join one tab and pay for their own items or the whole check | Same-table orders combine into one ticket |
| Editing after sending | “Guests cannot edit” an order after submitting; a manager may need to void it | Not stated |
| Internet outage | Mobile Order & Pay ordering and payment “not supported” during outages | Not stated |
| Guest languages | Devices offer English, Spanish, French and Simplified Chinese; “menu names and items are not translated” | Not stated |
| Kitchen screen | Printers or KDS | KDS app $30 a month per device on Plus, $20 on Premium |
| Countries | US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia; pre-authorized tabs US only | Many; prices differ by country |
Sources: Toast’s Mobile Order & Pay overview, FAQs and device language article; Square’s restaurant pricing and self-serve ordering pages.
“Not stated” means we didn’t find it on the pages we read, not that the feature is missing. Ask.
How much does Square for Restaurants cost?
Short answer: $0, $49 or $149 per location per month in the US, plus card fees, plus any add-ons and hardware.
The plan you need depends on what you want. QR code ordering is listed on Plus and Premium, not Free. A kitchen display app is $30 a month per device on Plus and $20 on Premium, and a kiosk is $99 a month per device. Prices change by country: Square’s Canadian help article shows Restaurants Plus at “$60 subscription fee” per location per month, and its Irish page shows “€69 + VAT per month per location”.
Card fees usually decide the real cost. On Plus, in-person payments are 2.5% + 15¢ and online payments 2.9% + 30¢. Square’s page doesn’t say which rate applies to orders paid by phone from the table, so ask. Our post on what Square QR ordering costs works through the numbers in detail.
How much does Toast cost?
Short answer: we don’t know, because Toast didn’t publish a price we could read.
Toast’s product and pricing pages returned an HTTP 403 error to our checker on 15 October 2026, and again on 16 October 2026. Its help articles describe Mobile Order & Pay in detail but give no price. Third-party blogs quote figures, but they disagree and we couldn’t confirm them, so we don’t repeat them. Ask Toast for a written quote that covers software, hardware, card processing, Mobile Order & Pay and any kitchen screens, and the length of any agreement.
Which is better for a small restaurant?
Short answer: the one whose written quote, for your setup, you understand best. Here is how to get to that.
A decision guide, in order:
- Do you want to start without a sales call? Square lets you start on the Free plan and trial Plus or Premium for 30 days, as published. We couldn’t read Toast’s pricing, so expect to ask for a quote.
- Will guests pay at the table on their phones? Both do it. Compare card fees in writing for your sales mix.
- Do you rely on printers? Both route to kitchen printers or screens. Check that your current printers are supported before you buy new ones.
- Do many guests read your menu in another language? Neither describes guest-language ordering on the pages we read. Ask both.
- Is your internet unreliable? Toast says Mobile Order & Pay can’t take orders or payments during an outage. Ask Square the same question.
- How long is the agreement, and what does leaving cost? Get both answers in writing. Our restaurant QR buyer’s checklist lists the rest.
If you’re choosing a new POS anyway, get both quotes for the same setup and compare two years of total cost: software, hardware, card fees and add-ons.
What should you ask before signing with either?
Short answer: the questions whose answers aren’t on the public pages.
Use the same list for both, and get the answers in writing:
| Question | What Square publishes (US, 15 Oct 2026) | What to ask Toast |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly software price per location | $0, $49 or $149 | The full quote for your setup |
| Card fees for orders paid by phone at the table | In person and online rates; which applies to QR orders isn’t stated | The rate for Mobile Order & Pay payments |
| Kitchen screens | KDS app $30 per device on Plus, $20 on Premium | The price per screen, and whether your printers work |
| Hardware | Not covered on the pages we read | Buy, lease or included, and who owns it if you leave |
| Agreement length | “You can cancel or switch plans anytime” on paid plans | The term and any early-cancellation fee |
| Outages | Not stated | Toast says ordering and payment through Mobile Order & Pay aren’t supported during an outage; ask what staff do then |
| Your data on exit | Not stated | How you export menus, sales and guest data if you leave |
Ask Square the hardware, outage and data questions too. A vendor’s pricing page answers the first question well and the rest rarely.
When don’t you need to switch POS at all?
Short answer: when your till works and what you actually want is table ordering.
Switching POS means new hardware, a new menu build, new reports and retraining every shift. That is a lot of change for one feature. If table ordering is the goal, there are less disruptive routes:
| Route | What it means | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| Your POS’s own QR module | If you already run Square, Toast or another POS with QR ordering, turn it on | A plan upgrade and card fees |
| A tool next to your till | A browser-based ordering tool that doesn’t need a POS switch, such as MENU TIGER or WaiterPilot; Ordder says its Console adds a guest layer on top of another POS in the US and UAE | A second system; often re-keying |
| Switch POS | Move to Toast, Square or another POS for its QR ordering | The whole switch |
WaiterPilot is one of the route-two tools, and it is different in one way: guests order by chat in their own words. They scan the QR code on their table, the menu opens in the phone’s browser with no app, and they ask questions and order in their own language; answers come from your menu. It has been tested in English, Arabic and Spanish, and the screen buttons are English or Arabic. The first order at each table waits for staff to confirm it.
What it doesn’t do, compared with Toast or Square: it takes no payment and has no POS or printer connection. Guests see a live bill and pay your staff on your Toast or Square terminal, and staff enter each phone order in the POS.
A worked example: Casa Olivo on Square
Casa Olivo is a fictional restaurant (an example, not a customer). Prices are as published on 15 October 2026, before card fees.
Casa Olivo runs one location on Square’s Free plan and wants guests to order from their tables.
| Option | Monthly cost before card fees | What changes |
|---|---|---|
| Upgrade to Square Plus for QR ordering | $49 | Guests order and pay on their phones; orders go to the POS and printers |
| Plus, with one KDS device | $49 + $30 = $79 | Adds a kitchen screen |
| Stay on Free and add WaiterPilot | $200 (or $2,000 a year) | Guests order by chat in their own language; staff enter orders in Square; guests pay on the Square terminal |
| Switch to Toast | Not published | Everything changes |
For a restaurant already on Square, Square’s own QR ordering is cheaper and needs no re-keying, and it lets guests pay on their phones. WaiterPilot costs more and adds re-keying. The reason to pick it anyway is the conversation: guests who ask questions before ordering, or who don’t read your menu’s language. If that isn’t your problem, choose Square’s module.
What to do next
Write down the one problem you want to solve. If it is “our till is old”, get written quotes from Toast and Square for the same setup. If it is “guests wait to order”, check first whether your current POS sells QR ordering. If it is “guests can’t read our menu or keep asking questions”, compare chat-based tools. Our Toast comparison and Square comparison set WaiterPilot against each one, and our guide to Toast Mobile Order & Pay alternatives covers the route-two tools in detail. WaiterPilot costs $200 per location per month, with free setup, 0% commission and no contract; see pricing.
Questions readers ask
Is Toast or Square better for restaurants?
It depends on what you can compare. Square publishes its restaurant plans and card fees; Toast didn't publish a price we could read in October 2026. Get a written quote from both for the same setup, then compare the total over two years, including hardware and card fees.
How much does Square for Restaurants cost?
In the US, as published on 15 October 2026: Free $0, Plus $49 and Premium $149 per location per month. In-person card fees are 2.6%+15¢, 2.5%+15¢ and 2.4%+15¢ on those plans. Prices differ by country; Square's Canadian help page shows Restaurants Plus at $60 per location per month.
How much does Toast cost per month?
We couldn't find out from Toast. Its pricing pages returned an error to our checker on 15 and 16 October 2026, and its help articles give no price. Third-party estimates exist but we don't repeat them; ask Toast for a written quote.
Does Square have QR code ordering for restaurants?
Yes. Square lists QR code ordering on its Plus and Premium US restaurant plans, not on Free. Table QR codes open the restaurant's Square Online ordering page, guests pay by phone, and orders go to the POS and kitchen printers.
Can I add QR ordering without switching POS?
Yes. First check whether your current POS sells its own QR module. If not, tools such as MENU TIGER and WaiterPilot run in the browser next to your till. Without a POS link, staff enter phone orders in the till.
Does WaiterPilot work with Toast or Square?
It runs next to either but connects to neither. Orders appear on WaiterPilot's staff board and kitchen screen, staff enter the sale in the POS, and guests pay on your Toast or Square terminal.
Sources
- Mobile Order and Pay Overview, Toast, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Toast Mobile Order & Pay FAQs, Toast, 2026-09-17 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Update the Language Setting on Your Toast Device, Toast, 2026-10-14 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Toast POS pricing (returned HTTP 403 to our checker), Toast, 2026 (checked 2026-10-16)
- Square for Restaurants pricing, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Self-serve ordering, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Square Restaurants Plus subscription (Canada help article), Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- MENU TIGER pricing, MENU TIGER, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Ordder home page, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)