Skip to content
WaiterPilot™

Costs and the numbers

How much does Square QR code ordering cost, and what does setup take?

Square lists QR code ordering on its $49 Plus and $149 Premium US plans per location, plus card fees of 2.4% to 2.9%. What you pay, what you need, what to ask.

WaiterPilot Research
Updated , 7 min read

Real screenshot: the WaiterPilot guest chat answering a menu question, for comparison with a tap menu

The short answer

Square lists QR code ordering on its Plus ($49) and Premium ($149) US plans per location per month, not on Free, with a 30-day trial. Card fees come on top: 2.5% or 2.4% plus 15¢ in person, or 2.9% plus 30¢ online, and Square doesn't say which rate applies to QR orders. Setup needs a Square Online ordering page, table QR codes, and printers or a kitchen display.

Key points

  1. Square lists QR code ordering on Plus ($49) and Premium ($149) per location per month in the US, not on the Free plan (checked 15 Oct 2026).
  2. Card processing, not the plan fee, is the biggest cost: in our example it is 16 to 62 times the plan fee.
  3. Square's pricing page doesn't say whether QR payments are charged at its in-person or online rate; that one answer can swing the monthly bill by hundreds of dollars.
  4. Premium only beats Plus on in-person card payments above about $100,000 a month; online rates are the same on both.
  5. A kitchen display adds $30 per device per month on Plus, or $20 on Premium.
On this page

Square lists QR code ordering on its Plus ($49) and Premium ($149) US plans, per location per month, and not on its Free plan. Card processing comes on top, and it is the larger cost. On the two plans that include QR ordering, Square lists in-person rates of 2.5% plus 15¢ (Plus) or 2.4% plus 15¢ (Premium), and an online rate of 2.9% plus 30¢ on both, without saying which one QR payments use. To set it up you need a Square Online ordering page, a QR code for each table, and kitchen printers or a kitchen display.

This post works out the cost and the setup with Square’s own pages as published on 15 October 2026, using one example restaurant. If you’re choosing between Square and an AI waiter, our Square vs WaiterPilot comparison covers the head-to-head; here we stay on what Square costs and what it takes.

How much does Square QR code ordering cost?

Short answer: $49 or $149 per location per month for the plan, plus card fees on every payment.

Square’s US restaurant pricing page, checked 15 October 2026, lists three plans:

Square for Restaurants (US)Monthly fee per locationQR code orderingFree trial
Free$0Not includedNot applicable
Plus$49Included30 days
Premium$149Included30 days

Square says “you can cancel or switch plans anytime” on Plus and Premium. Prices differ by country, and Square’s pages for other markets show different figures, so check the page for yours.

The plan fee is the easy part. The rest of the bill depends on card processing and on any extra devices.

What do card fees add?

Short answer: far more than the plan fee, and the exact amount depends on a rate Square’s page doesn’t name.

Square’s US pricing page lists these processing rates:

PlanIn-person card rateOnline card rate
Free (no QR ordering)2.6% + 15¢3.3% + 30¢
Plus2.5% + 15¢2.9% + 30¢
Premium2.4% + 15¢2.9% + 30¢

On a $60 check, Plus costs $1.65 at the in-person rate (2.5% × $60 + $0.15) or $2.04 at the online rate (2.9% × $60 + $0.30). That’s a 39¢ gap per check. The page doesn’t say which rate applies to QR self-serve payments, where the guest pays on their own phone through the Square Online page. Ask before you budget.

A worked example at Casa Olivo

Casa Olivo is a fictional restaurant we use for examples, not a customer. Its figures are assumptions; Square’s rates are from its US pricing page, checked 15 October 2026.

Assumptions: 1,500 table checks a month, all paid by card through QR, averaging $60, so $90,000 in card sales. We leave out tax, tips, hardware and anything not on the price list.

Monthly costPlus, online ratePlus, in-person ratePremium, online ratePremium, in-person rate
Plan fee$49$49$149$149
Percentage fee2.9% × $90,000 = $2,6102.5% × $90,000 = $2,2502.9% × $90,000 = $2,6102.4% × $90,000 = $2,160
Per-payment fee1,500 × $0.30 = $4501,500 × $0.15 = $2251,500 × $0.30 = $4501,500 × $0.15 = $225
Total$3,109$2,524$3,209$2,534

What the example shows:

  • Processing dwarfs the plan fee: from 16 to 62 times it across the four columns. Compare total monthly cost, not plan price.
  • The rate question is worth $585 a month at Casa Olivo’s volume on Plus ($3,109 against $2,524).
  • Premium rarely pays for itself on card fees alone. It costs $100 more a month and saves 0.1 percentage points on in-person payments, so it breaks even at $100,000 a month of in-person card sales. Online rates are the same on Plus and Premium.
  • Not every guest will pay by QR. In the NRA’s Restaurant Technology Landscape Report 2024, 46% of full-service diners said they would pay with a QR code. Expect a mix of QR and terminal payments, and so a mix of rates.

For your own numbers, use the cost calculator. For how flat fees compare with commission-based tools, see how much QR code ordering costs.

What else might you pay for?

Short answer: a kitchen display if you don’t print, and kiosks if you also run counter service.

Add-on on Square’s US pagePlusPremium
Square KDS app (kitchen display)$30 per device per month$20 per device per month
Square Kiosk$99 per device per month (plan not specified)$99 per device per month (plan not specified)

A kitchen with two KDS screens on Plus adds $60 a month, more than the plan itself. Kiosks are for counter ordering, not for table QR, so most table-service restaurants won’t need them. Kitchen printers and the tablets or screens for KDS are hardware you buy; the pages we read don’t price them.

What do you need to set it up?

Short answer: a Plus or Premium plan, a Square Online ordering page, a QR code per table, and somewhere for orders to land.

From Square’s self-serve ordering page, checked 15 October 2026:

  1. A plan that includes QR ordering: Square for Restaurants Plus or Premium.
  2. A Square Online ordering page. That’s what opens in the guest’s phone browser when they scan.
  3. QR codes uniquely mapped to tables, so each order arrives with its table.
  4. Kitchen printers or a kitchen display. Orders go to your Square POS and kitchen printers. Orders from the same table combine into one ticket.
  5. Payment methods. Guests pay with Apple Pay, Google Pay or Square Pay on their phone.

Before your first service, we’d add a few checks of our own (these are our advice, not Square’s steps):

  • Scan each table’s code from the guest’s seat, in evening light, on the far tables too.
  • Check the menu on the ordering page against the printed one: prices, choices and anything sold out.
  • Make sure Wi-Fi or mobile data works at every table and in the kitchen.
  • Tell staff where QR orders appear and who checks them, and keep the printed menu on the table for guests who’d rather order from a person.

How does the cost change with more locations?

Short answer: the plan fee and any KDS screens multiply by location; card fees follow sales.

Square prices Plus and Premium per location, so three locations on Plus pay $147 a month in plan fees, and three on Premium pay $447. KDS screens are priced per device, so a group with two kitchen screens in each of three locations pays $180 a month on Plus ($30 × 6) or $120 on Premium ($20 × 6). Card fees don’t change with the number of locations; they follow card sales at each one. That’s why the break-even point between Plus and Premium is worth working out per location, not for the group: a busy flagship may justify Premium while a smaller site stays on Plus.

What doesn’t Square’s pricing page say?

Short answer: several things that change the cost or the fit. Ask them on the sales call or during the trial.

  1. Which card rate applies to QR self-serve payments on my plan: online or in-person?
  2. Can guests order without paying first, and pay at the end of the meal?
  3. Can guests order in a language other than my menu’s? The Square pages we read don’t say.
  4. How many printers or KDS screens do I need for my kitchen layout?
  5. What happens to QR orders if the internet drops mid-service?
  6. Is the price the same in my country? Square’s prices differ by market.

Does Square QR ordering raise ticket size?

Short answer: don’t budget on it. In 2021, Square wrote that “Businesses using Square that have enabled open tabs on Self-Serve Ordering see 42% higher average ticket sizes” (Square, 2021). It covers open tabs only and gives no sample, time period or comparison group. The best peer-reviewed study of tabletop ordering found sales per check rose about 1% while meal duration fell about 10% (Tan and Netessine, Management Science, as reported by Restaurant Technology News, 2019). Our check-size research has the details.

When does a standalone AI waiter cost less?

Short answer: when QR payments would be charged at Square’s online rate, and your staff can ring sales into the till.

At Casa Olivo, staying on Square Free and adding WaiterPilot ($200 per location per month, 0% commission, no contract) with guests paying on the Square terminal at the Free plan’s in-person rate costs $200 + $2,340 + $225 = $2,765 a month. That’s less than Plus at the online rate ($3,109) and more than Plus at the in-person rate ($2,524).

The table doesn’t show two things. WaiterPilot takes no payment and has no POS or printer link, so staff enter each sale in Square by hand; our guide to reconciling QR orders with your till shows what that takes. And what you get is different: guests ask and order by chat in their own language, rather than tapping a menu. If paying by phone and zero re-keying matter most, Square is the better choice. The full side-by-side is on our Square vs WaiterPilot page.

What to do next

Ask Square one question before anything else: which card rate applies to QR self-serve payments on your plan. Then fill in the example table with your own check count and average, and add any KDS screens. If you’d like to see the chat alternative for comparison, try a sample order.

Questions readers ask

How much does Square QR code ordering cost?

On Square's US restaurant pricing page, checked 15 October 2026, QR code ordering is listed on Plus at $49 and Premium at $149 per location per month, plus card processing. Plus and Premium come with a 30-day free trial.

Is QR code ordering included in Square's free plan?

No. Square's US pricing page marks QR code ordering as not included on the Free plan. You need Square for Restaurants Plus or Premium.

Which card rate does Square charge on QR code orders?

Square's pricing page doesn't say. On the plans with QR ordering it lists in-person rates of 2.5% plus 15¢ (Plus) or 2.4% plus 15¢ (Premium), and an online rate of 2.9% plus 30¢ on both. Ask Square which applies to QR payments on your plan before you budget.

What hardware does Square QR ordering need?

Orders go to your Square POS and kitchen printers, so you need printers or a kitchen display. Square lists its KDS app at $30 per device per month on Plus and $20 on Premium.

Can WaiterPilot run next to Square instead of Square's QR ordering?

Yes, side by side, but WaiterPilot doesn't connect to Square. WaiterPilot orders appear on its own staff board and kitchen screen, staff enter the sale in Square, and guests pay on your Square terminal. WaiterPilot is $200 per location per month and takes no payment.

Sources

  1. Self-serve ordering, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  2. Square for Restaurants pricing, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  3. How QR Code Ordering Is Improving Guest Experience and Your Bottom Line, Square, 2021-10-07 (checked 2026-10-15)
  4. Restaurant Technology Landscape Report 2024, National Restaurant Association, 2024 (checked 2026-10-15)
  5. Research: tabletop technology improves sales 1% per check, reducing meal duration 10%, Restaurant Technology News (reporting Tan and Netessine, Management Science), 2019-07 (checked 2026-10-15)

Watch an order go from table to kitchen

Try a sample order on your phone, or book a 20-minute demo. 30 days free, no setup fee, no contract.