Skip to content
WaiterPilot™

Choosing a system

The best QR table ordering systems for small restaurants (2026), with limits

Seven QR table ordering systems compared on published price, fee model, languages, payments and main limit, WaiterPilot included. Checked 15 Oct 2026.

WaiterPilot Research
Updated , 9 min read

The waiter character with breakfast plates and a QR code tablet

The short answer

There is no single best one. Lowest price: MENU TIGER (free plan, then from US$17 a month). All-in-one POS with an AI waiter: Ordder (AI from $79 a month). Already on Square or Toast: their own QR ordering. Payment at the table: sunday or Qlub. Chat ordering in the guest's language next to any till: WaiterPilot, $200 per location per month.

Key points

  1. Start from what you already run: if your POS sells QR ordering, it is usually the least work.
  2. MENU TIGER and Ordder publish the lowest prices of the seven; WaiterPilot is not the cheapest.
  3. For a 12-table restaurant with 900 orders a month, published software prices ranged from $46 to $200 a month, before card processing.
  4. Every tool here except WaiterPilot takes payment at the table; WaiterPilot is also the only one without a POS of its own or a POS link.
  5. Of the seven, only Ordder (from its $79 plan) and WaiterPilot let guests order by chatting in their own words.
On this page

There is no single best QR table ordering system for a small restaurant. There is a best one for what you already run and what you need most. If price comes first, MENU TIGER publishes the lowest prices, with a free plan. If you want one system for the till, QR ordering, payment and an AI waiter, Ordder offers that from $79 a month. If you run Square or Toast, their own QR ordering is usually the least work. If you mainly want guests to pay at the table, look at sunday or Qlub. And if you want guests to order by chat in their own language without changing your till, that’s WaiterPilot, at $200 per location per month.

Most “best QR ordering” lists are written by a vendor that ranks itself first. This one is written by a vendor too, so we’ve done three things differently: every competitor fact links to the vendor’s own page, every entry states its main limit (ours included), and we tell you when to pick someone else.

How did we choose and check these seven?

Short answer: tools that offer QR ordering or payment at the table and publish enough to compare, read on their own sites on 15 October 2026.

  • Sources. Vendor pricing pages, product pages, help centers and terms only. No review sites and no third-party price estimates.
  • Not tested. We did not sign up for or use the other six products. This compares what each vendor publishes, not how well it works.
  • Prices. US-dollar figures as shown on 15 October 2026. Prices change and differ by country.
  • Left out. Tools whose prices and features we couldn’t read, and tools aimed mainly at large groups.

The seven at a glance

SystemBest forPrice as published (15 Oct 2026)Fee modelGuest languages (as published)Main limit
MENU TIGERLowest cost; starting freeFree (75 orders/month), US$17, US$46, US$119 a month; yearly saves 15%Flat; “0% commission”; card payments via your Stripe accountMenus auto-translated into “30+ foreign languages” (its figure)Table-based ordering, floor plan and split bills only on Premium (US$119)
OrdderAll-in-one POS with an AI waiter$29, $79, $199 a month; 30 days free; “A year costs ten months”Flat; card fees from your provider; terms mention a 1% service feeGuest menu and AI Waiter in 23 languages (its figure)AI Waiter only from $79; per location or per account not stated
SquareRestaurants already on SquareQR ordering on Plus ($49) or Premium ($149) per location per monthFlat plus card processing (online 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus)Not statedNeeds Square POS; not on the Free plan
Toast Mobile Order & PayRestaurants already on ToastNone we could readNot published on the pages we readNot described; device language setting doesn’t translate menu names or itemsNeeds Toast POS; guests can’t edit an order after sending it
sundayPayment at the tableStandard $199, Premium $299 a month; $5 per QR code; onboarding “Optional $299”Flat; processing not statedNot statedPer location not stated; built around payment
QlubPayment at the table, especially in the GulfNot public; 30-day free trialNot publishedArabic website; guest languages not statedNo published price
WaiterPilotChat ordering in the guest’s language, next to any till$200 per location per month, or $2,000 per year; 30 days freeFlat; 0% commission; no contractChat answers in the guest’s language (tested in English, Arabic and Spanish); buttons English or ArabicNo payments; no POS or printer link

What does each one do well, and where does it fall short?

Short answer: each wins on one thing and gives something up for it.

MENU TIGER is a QR menu and ordering service where “Customers order and pay by scanning the QR code”. Menu translation and an AI menu builder come on every plan, payment processing from the Regular plan via your Stripe account, and a kitchen display from Advanced. It lists “No setup fees. No commission per order. Upgrade or cancel anytime” and “No credit card required”.

The limit: the features that make it table ordering rather than a menu (table-based ordering, a visual floor plan, merge tables and split bills) are on Premium, at US$119. Each plan also caps orders per month. MENU TIGER also publishes many “best QR menu” lists that rank itself first, so read its comparisons the way you’d read ours.

Ordder: best all-in-one with an AI waiter

Ordder calls itself “The till, QR ordering, the kitchen and the floor”. It runs in the browser on devices you have, works with several card terminals and thermal printers, and its AI Waiter answers from the real menu at real prices and asks about allergies first. On Ordder’s own pages, “The guest menu and the AI Waiter speak the same 23 languages”, and “Anything involving money waits for a person to confirm it.”

The limit: the AI Waiter is on Professional ($79) and Enterprise ($199), not Starter. Starter covers 15 tables and 500 orders a month. Its terms say that “Unless stated in writing, Ordder will charge a service fee to clients (not merchants) of 1% on processed transaction volume through Ordder, in addition to payment processor fees.” The wording is ambiguous, so ask Ordder how it applies to you. Ordder is also a POS, so using all of it means changing your till; in the US and UAE it offers a guest layer on top of another POS.

Square: best if you already run Square

Each table’s QR code opens your Square Online ordering page. Guests order and pay with Apple Pay, Google Pay or Square Pay, orders go to your POS and kitchen printers, and orders from one table combine into one ticket. Plus and Premium have a 30-day free trial, and Square says you can cancel or switch plans anytime.

The limit: it’s part of Square, so it suits Square restaurants. A kitchen display adds $30 per device per month on Plus. Square doesn’t say which card rate applies to QR orders. We work through that in Square QR ordering cost and setup, and compare the two head to head in Square vs WaiterPilot.

Toast Mobile Order & Pay: best if you already run Toast

Guests scan a per-table QR code, then browse, order and pay on their phone, and groups can share one tab. Orders reach the kitchen through a designated Toast device and follow your printer or kitchen-display routing.

The limit: it needs Toast POS, and we found no published price. Toast’s FAQ says guests “cannot edit” an order after sending it and that ordering and payment are “not supported” during an internet outage. If you don’t run Toast, see Toast Mobile Order & Pay alternatives.

sunday: best when payment is the bottleneck

sunday sells payment at the table (“Scan, split, tip, pay”), plus ordering and handheld devices, and shows logos for many POS systems.

The limit: it’s built around the bill. Its pricing page doesn’t say whether the price is per location or what processing costs, and physical onboarding is an optional $299. For a small restaurant whose real problem is the wait to order, it may be the wrong tool. Our guide to pay at table vs order at table helps you tell.

Qlub: best for payment at the table in the Gulf

Qlub offers pay at table, order and pay, a digital menu and a card terminal app, with an Arabic website. It was established in Dubai and lists contacts across the Gulf, Asia-Pacific, Brazil and the US.

The limit: no published price, so you can’t compare it without a sales call. It offers a 30-day free trial.

WaiterPilot: best for conversation in the guest’s language, next to any till

Guests scan the table’s QR code and the menu opens in their phone’s browser, with no app and no sign-up. They order by chat in their own words, and answers come from your menu. When the menu doesn’t say, WaiterPilot tells them to ask a staff member, and for allergies staff always have the final say. The first order at each table waits for a staff member to confirm it. Guests can call a waiter or ask for the check from the phone, and they see a live bill they can split. Setup is free: we load your menu from a PDF or photos, print your QR cards and train your staff, and most restaurants are live within two weeks.

The limits: no payment processing (guests pay your staff), no POS or printer link (staff enter each sale in the till), screen buttons in English or Arabic only, and it isn’t the cheapest. We also have no published customer references yet. If any of those rules it out, pick one of the six above.

What would a small restaurant actually pay each month?

Short answer: between $46 and $200 a month in software for the tools that publish prices, before card processing.

Casa Olivo is a fictional restaurant we use for examples. It has 12 tables and about 900 QR orders a month. The plan picks below follow each vendor’s published limits as of 15 October 2026.

SystemPlan Casa Olivo would needWhySoftware per month
MENU TIGERAdvanced, or Premium for table-based ordering900 orders is over Regular’s 500; table-based ordering is Premium onlyUS$46, or US$119 with table ordering
OrdderProfessional900 orders is over Starter’s 500; AI Waiter starts here$79 (plus the 1% clause, if it applies)
SquarePlusQR ordering isn’t on Free$49, plus $30 per kitchen display
ToastNot publishedAsk Toast
sundayStandardEntry plan$199, plus $5 per QR code (12 codes: $60; how often isn’t stated)
QlubNot publishedAsk Qlub
WaiterPilotOne locationOne price$200, or $2,000 a year (about $167 a month)

Two things this table doesn’t show. First, card processing: every tool except WaiterPilot takes payment, so its processing fee applies to each payment through it, while with WaiterPilot guests pay on the terminal you already have, at your current rates. Second, staff time: with WaiterPilot, staff enter each sale in the till; with the POS-based tools, they may be learning a new POS. Our flat fee vs commission guide and cost calculator go deeper.

What should a small restaurant ask before choosing?

Ask every vendor these questions, including us. The full list is in our restaurant QR buyer’s checklist.

  1. Which plan includes ordering tied to tables, not just a menu? (MENU TIGER: Premium.)
  2. Is the price per location or per account? Several pages don’t say.
  3. Is there a cap on orders or tables per month on my plan?
  4. Do orders reach my kitchen on paper or on a screen, and what does that screen cost?
  5. Do I need to change my POS or payment processor?
  6. What are all the fees on a payment: processing, service fees, anything in the terms?
  7. In which languages can guests actually order, and is that the menu, the buttons or a chat?
  8. What happens with allergy questions, and who has the final say?
  9. Can I cancel without a contract, and what does setup cost?
  10. Who loads my menu, me or you?

When is WaiterPilot not the right pick?

Short answer: when payment, price or your POS comes first.

Choose another tool if guests must pay on their phone, if every order has to land in your POS or print in the kitchen, or if the monthly fee is the deciding factor. WaiterPilot makes sense when the hard part of your service is the conversation: guests who ask before they order, or who don’t read your menu’s language. Our comparison page has side-by-side tables for Toast, Square, Ordder and MENU TIGER.

What to do next

Pick your top two from the table above using one question: what do you already run, and what’s your biggest wait? Then ask both vendors the ten questions. To see WaiterPilot from the guest’s side, try a sample order.

Questions readers ask

What is the cheapest QR table ordering system?

Of the seven we compared, MENU TIGER publishes the lowest prices: a free plan for 75 orders a month, then US$17, US$46 and US$119 a month. Ordder starts at $29 a month. Check which plan includes table-based ordering before you compare.

Which QR ordering systems let guests order by chat?

Ordder's AI Waiter, on its Professional ($79) and Enterprise ($199) plans, and WaiterPilot. The others are tap menus where guests pick dishes into a cart.

Do I need to change my POS to use QR table ordering?

Not always. Toast's and Square's QR ordering need their own POS. MENU TIGER and WaiterPilot run in the browser next to your till, and Ordder is a POS that also offers a guest layer on top of another POS in the US and UAE.

Why is WaiterPilot more expensive than MENU TIGER or Ordder?

WaiterPilot is $200 per location per month with setup, menu loading, QR cards and staff training done for you, and ordering by conversation in the guest's language. It is not the cheapest; if price comes first, MENU TIGER or Ordder is the better pick.

Is this list independent?

No. We sell WaiterPilot, which is on the list. That's why every competitor fact links to the vendor's own pages as published on 15 October 2026, and why each entry, ours included, states its main limit.

Sources

  1. MENU TIGER pricing, MENU TIGER, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  2. Ordder pricing, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  3. Ordder AI Waiter, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  4. Ordder terms and conditions, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  5. Self-serve ordering, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  6. Square for Restaurants pricing, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  7. Toast Mobile Order & Pay FAQs, Toast, 2026-09-17 (checked 2026-10-15)
  8. Update the Language Setting on Your Toast Device, Toast, 2026-10-14 (checked 2026-10-15)
  9. sunday pricing, sunday, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  10. qlub home page (Pay-at-Table, Order-and-Pay), Qlub, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)

Watch an order go from table to kitchen

Try a sample order on your phone, or book a 20-minute demo. 30 days free, no setup fee, no contract.