Skip to content
WaiterPilot™

Choosing a system

Toast Mobile Order & Pay alternatives for restaurants that don't run Toast

Toast Mobile Order & Pay needs Toast POS. On another till, your options are its own QR module, a tool that sits next to it, or switching. Checked Oct 2026.

WaiterPilot Research
Updated , 8 min read

The waiter character with arms crossed and a confident smile

The short answer

Toast Mobile Order & Pay is part of Toast POS: a Toast device fires the orders to the kitchen and guests pay through Toast. If you don't run Toast, you have three routes: your own POS's QR ordering (Square, Lightspeed, Clover), a tool that runs next to your till (MENU TIGER, WaiterPilot, or Ordder's Console in the US and UAE), or switching to Toast. Vendor facts checked 15 October 2026.

Key points

  1. Toast says Mobile Order & Pay orders reach the kitchen through a designated auto-firing Toast device, so it is not a stand-alone product.
  2. If your POS has its own QR ordering, such as Square on its Plus and Premium plans, that is usually the least work.
  3. MENU TIGER and WaiterPilot run next to your existing till and avoid a POS switch; Ordder is a POS, but in the US and UAE its Console adds a guest layer on top of another POS.
  4. WaiterPilot is the conversation option: guests order by chat in their own language, but it takes no payment and has no POS link.
  5. Switching to Toast makes sense when you are replacing your POS anyway and want ordering and payment in one system.
On this page

Toast Mobile Order & Pay is not a stand-alone product. It is part of Toast POS: Toast’s own help center says orders reach the kitchen through a designated auto-firing Toast device, and guests pay through Toast. So if you don’t run Toast, the real choice is between three routes: use your own POS’s QR ordering, add a tool that runs next to your till, or switch to Toast. This guide lays out each route with vendor facts checked on 15 October 2026, and says where each one, including ours, falls short.

What does Toast Mobile Order & Pay actually do?

Short answer: guests scan a QR code on their table, then browse, order and pay on their own phone, all inside Toast.

From Toast’s help center (overview and FAQs, read 15 Oct 2026):

  • Ordering. Each table has its own QR code. Guests browse the menu, order and pay from their device. With group ordering, guests at a table can join one tab and pay for their own items or the whole check.
  • Kitchen. “To get Toast Mobile Order & Pay orders to go directly to the kitchen, designate an auto-firing device in the restaurant.” Items follow your print routing to printers or a kitchen display.
  • Set-up. Tables and QR signs are set up in Toast Web, and you need at least one Dine In dining option.
  • Payment. Guests pay by card with Click to Pay, Apple Pay (not when tabs are on) and Toast gift cards. Standard tabs start with the guest’s name. Pre-authorized tabs are US only.
  • Limits Toast states. “Guests cannot edit a Toast Mobile Order & Pay® order after they submit it”; a manager may need to void it. During an internet outage, “order and payment processing through Toast Mobile Order & Pay® is not supported.”
  • Languages. Toast devices offer English, Spanish, French and Simplified Chinese screens, but the language article says “menu names and items are not translated”. We found no guest-language feature on the Mobile Order & Pay pages we read.
  • Price. We could not read one. Toast’s product and pricing pages returned an error to our checker on 15 Oct 2026, and the help pages give no price.

For a Toast restaurant, this is a strong product: one system, orders fire to the kitchen, guests pay at the table. We say so on our Toast comparison page too.

What are the three routes if you don’t run Toast?

Short answer: use what your POS already sells, add something next to it, or switch.

RouteWhat it meansBest whenMain cost
1. Your own POS’s QR orderingTurn on the QR module of the POS you have (Square, Lightspeed, Clover and others)Your POS offers it and you want payment at the tableA plan upgrade and card processing
2. A tool next to your tillAdd a browser-based ordering tool that doesn’t need a POS switch (MENU TIGER, WaiterPilot; Ordder’s Console in the US and UAE)Your POS has no QR module, or you want something it doesn’t doA second system; often re-keying or an integration
3. Switch to ToastReplace your POS and use Mobile Order & PayYou are replacing the POS anywayThe switch itself: hardware, set-up, retraining

How do the alternatives compare?

Short answer: they split on two questions: do guests pay at the table, and does the order land in your POS?

Facts below come from each vendor’s own pages, checked 15 October 2026. We did not use these products.

AlternativeRouteHow guests orderPayment at the tableGuest languages (as published)Price as publishedMain limit
Square1Table QR opens your Square Online ordering pageYes: Apple Pay, Google Pay, Square PayNot statedQR ordering on Plus ($49) or Premium ($149) per location per month, plus processingNeeds Square POS
Lightspeed Order Anywhere1Table QR: view menu, order, pay, no appYesNot statedStarter 69, Essential 189, Premium 399 (USD; period not stated on the page)Needs Lightspeed POS
Clover Scan to Order1Scan, order, add notesYes, with tipNot checkedNot checkedRequires a Clover POS device connected to a printer; most Scan to Order material we found dates from 2020 and 2021
MENU TIGER2QR menu; “Customers order and pay by scanning the QR code”Yes, from the Regular plan, via your Stripe accountMenus auto-translated into “30+ foreign languages” (its figure)Free (75 orders/month), US$17, US$46, US$119 a monthTap menu, no conversation; table-based ordering only on Premium
Ordder2 (is also a POS)QR menu in the browser; AI Waiter chat on Professional and EnterpriseYes; card fees from your providerGuest menu and AI Waiter in 23 languages (its figure)$29, $79 or $199 a month; 30 days freeAI Waiter needs the $79 plan; terms mention a 1% service fee on processed volume
WaiterPilot2Chat in the guest’s own words, then confirmNo: live bill and split; guests pay staffChat answers in the guest’s language (tested in English, Arabic and Spanish); buttons English or Arabic$200 per location per month, or $2,000 per year; 30 days freeNo POS or printer link; no payments

A few details that matter more than they look:

  • Ordder is a POS too. It describes itself as “The till, QR ordering, the kitchen and the floor”, and says that “In the US and UAE, Ordder Console adds the guest layer on top” of another POS. Ordder says “The guest menu and the AI Waiter speak the same 23 languages”. On its terms page, Ordder says it will “charge a service fee to clients (not merchants) of 1% on processed transaction volume through Ordder”, unless stated in writing. Ask Ordder how that applies to you.
  • MENU TIGER is the cheapest start. Its free plan covers 75 orders a month, and it lists “No setup fees. No commission per order. Upgrade or cancel anytime.” A Cloud POS add-on is $30 a month and printer management $20 a month on its middle plans.
  • Square is the closest like-for-like to Toast’s product for a restaurant already on Square, at a published price.

Where does WaiterPilot fit, and where doesn’t it?

Short answer: it fits when the conversation is the problem, not the payment.

Guests scan the QR code on their table and the menu opens in their phone’s browser, with no app and no sign-up. They don’t give a name, phone number or email to order. They ask about dishes and order by chat in their own words, and answers come from your menu. When the menu doesn’t say, WaiterPilot tells the guest to ask a staff member, and for allergies staff always have the final word. The first order at each table waits for a staff member to confirm it; later orders from that table go straight to the kitchen.

What it won’t do, compared with Toast’s product:

  • No payment. Guests see a live bill with tax and any service charge or gratuity you set, and split it evenly or see their own share. They pay your staff on your terminal.
  • No POS or printer link. Orders appear on WaiterPilot’s staff board and a kitchen screen without prices. Staff enter each sale in your till by hand. We walk through that step, and what it costs, in how to reconcile QR orders with your till.
  • Buttons in English or Arabic only. The chat follows the guest’s language; the screen buttons don’t.

And where it differs in the other direction: guests can cancel an order while it is still awaiting staff, nobody needs a guest’s name to open a tab, and the chat answers questions in the guest’s language, which none of the Toast pages we read describe. Like Toast’s product and every other phone-based tool here, it runs over the internet, so plan for what staff do if the connection drops.

When is switching to Toast the right call?

Short answer: when you are replacing your POS anyway and want ordering and payment in one system.

If your current till is near the end of its life, compare whole POS systems, not QR add-ons. In that case Toast, Square and Lightspeed all deserve a quote, and their QR ordering is one line in a bigger decision. Don’t switch POS just to get QR ordering if your current one works: routes 1 and 2 are less disruptive.

How should you choose? A decision guide

Answer in order. The first clear “yes” usually decides it.

  1. Are you replacing your POS in the next year? Yes: get quotes for full POS systems, including Toast, and use the new POS’s QR ordering.
  2. Does your current POS sell QR ordering? Yes, and you want guests to pay at the table: start there. Square, Lightspeed and Clover all do.
  3. Do guests need to pay on their phone? Yes, and your POS has no module: look at MENU TIGER or Ordder, or a pay-at-table tool. Not WaiterPilot. Our guide to pay at table vs order at table explains the difference.
  4. Is price the first filter? Yes: MENU TIGER’s free plan or Ordder’s $29 Starter.
  5. Do many guests ask questions before ordering, or not read your menu’s language? Yes: a chat-based tool. Ordder’s AI Waiter (from $79) and WaiterPilot ($200, setup done for you) are the two in this list.
  6. Can your staff live with entering each sale in the till? If not, rule out WaiterPilot.

What should you ask any alternative?

Use Toast’s own published limits as the benchmark. Ask every vendor, including us:

QuestionToast’s published answerWaiterPilot’s answer
Can a guest change an order after sending it?No; a manager may need to void itA guest can cancel while it is still awaiting staff
Can guests order in their own language?Not described; menu names and items are not translated on devicesYes, by chat; buttons English or Arabic
What does the guest have to give you?Standard tabs start with the guest’s nameNo name, phone number or email
How do orders reach the kitchen?A designated auto-firing Toast device; your printers or KDSWaiterPilot’s kitchen screen; no printer link
How do guests pay?On their phone: card, Apple Pay, gift cardsWith your staff, on your terminal
What does it cost?Not published$200 per location per month; 0% commission; no contract

Our restaurant QR buyer’s checklist has the full list of questions.

What to do next

Start with your POS: check whether it already sells QR ordering, and what the plan upgrade costs. If it doesn’t, or if guests need a conversation more than a tap menu, compare the route-2 tools on payments, languages and price. To see WaiterPilot from the guest’s side, try a sample order. Setup is free: we load your menu, print your QR cards and train your staff, and most restaurants are live within two weeks of the first call. There’s no hardware to buy.

Questions readers ask

Can I use Toast Mobile Order & Pay without Toast POS?

Not on what Toast publishes. Its help center says orders reach the kitchen through a designated auto-firing Toast device, and tables and QR signs are set up in Toast Web. If you don't run Toast, you need a different QR ordering tool or a switch to Toast.

What is the closest alternative to Toast Mobile Order & Pay on another POS?

Your own POS's QR ordering, if it has one. Square lists QR code ordering on its Plus and Premium plans, with orders going to the POS and kitchen printers and guests paying by phone. Lightspeed and Clover also sell QR ordering inside their POS.

Is there a Toast alternative that doesn't need a POS switch?

Yes. MENU TIGER and WaiterPilot run in the browser next to your existing till; Ordder is a POS, but in the US and UAE its Console adds a guest layer on top of another POS. They differ on payments, languages and price, so compare them on those three points.

Does WaiterPilot work with Toast?

WaiterPilot runs next to Toast but doesn't connect to it. Orders appear on WaiterPilot's staff board and kitchen screen, staff enter the sale in Toast, and guests pay on your Toast terminal.

How much does Toast Mobile Order & Pay cost?

We couldn't find a published price. Toast's pricing pages did not open for our checker on 15 October 2026, and its help articles give no price. Ask Toast for a quote.

Sources

  1. Mobile Order and Pay Overview, Toast, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  2. Toast Mobile Order & Pay FAQs, Toast, 2026-09-17 (checked 2026-10-15)
  3. Update the Language Setting on Your Toast Device, Toast, 2026-10-14 (checked 2026-10-15)
  4. Self-serve ordering, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  5. Square for Restaurants pricing, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  6. Order Anywhere, Lightspeed, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  7. Lightspeed Restaurant pricing, Lightspeed, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  8. Scan to Order, Clover, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  9. MENU TIGER pricing, MENU TIGER, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  10. Ordder pricing, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  11. Ordder home page, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  12. Ordder terms and conditions, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
  13. Ordder AI Waiter, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)

Watch an order go from table to kitchen

Try a sample order on your phone, or book a 20-minute demo. 30 days free, no setup fee, no contract.