Choosing a system
Restaurant software contracts: 12 questions to ask before you sign
Term, auto-renewal, early exit fees, hardware, card processing, price rises and your data: 12 questions to ask any restaurant software vendor before you sign.
WaiterPilot Editorial
Updated , 10 min read
The short answer
Get the full agreement and answer 12 questions before you sign: how long the term is, whether it renews itself, what leaving early costs, who owns the hardware, whether you must use their card processing, every per-order fee, how prices can rise, and how you get your data out. If a vendor won't answer in writing, assume the worst case.
Key points
- The monthly price is the part everyone compares; the term, the exit cost, the hardware and the card processing are where restaurants get stuck.
- Ask for the full service agreement, not the sales sheet, and find each answer in it before you sign.
- Published terms differ widely: as published on 15 Oct 2026, Square said you can cancel or switch plans anytime, Owner.com charged 5% per order on one plan, and Toast's pricing pages could not be read.
- In our worked example, leaving a hypothetical 36-month deal after a year costs $3,720 before any processing difference.
- WaiterPilot has no contract, no hardware, no payment processing and 0% commission, but it has not yet published a data export process or a support response time.
On this page
Before you sign any restaurant software deal, get the full agreement, not the sales sheet, and answer 12 questions in writing: the term, automatic renewal, the cost of leaving early, who owns the hardware, whether you must use the vendor’s card processing, every per-order fee, how prices can rise, and how you get your data out. The monthly price is the part everyone compares. The term, the exit and the processing are where restaurants get stuck.
This is a buyer’s checklist, not legal advice. If the deal is long or large, have a lawyer read it.
Why do restaurant software contracts cause so much regret?
Short answer: because the costs that hurt arrive after the demo, when you try to change something.
A demo shows the screens. The agreement decides what happens in month 14, when the tool isn’t working for you, a cheaper option appears, or you sell the restaurant. Four things tend to tie owners down:
- A long term with a fee for leaving early.
- Hardware you lease or finance that keeps billing after the software is gone.
- Card processing tied to the software, so switching one means switching both.
- Automatic renewal with a short notice window that is easy to miss.
None of these is wrong in itself. A longer term can buy a lower price, and an all-in-one POS with its own processing can be simpler to run. The problem is signing without knowing which of them you have agreed to.
What are the 12 questions to ask before you sign?
Short answer: these 12, with the answer found in the agreement itself, not in an email from sales.
Agreements use different headings, so the middle column says where the answer usually sits.
| # | Question | Where it usually is | Answer to worry about |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | How long is the term, and does it start at signing or at go-live? | Term; order form | A long term that starts before you are live |
| 2 | Does it renew automatically, and how much notice do I give to stop? | Term and renewal | Auto-renewal for another full term with a short notice window |
| 3 | What does it cost to leave early? | Termination; fees | A fee equal to most of the remaining months |
| 4 | Do I buy, lease or finance the hardware, and what happens to it if I leave? | Equipment; hardware lease or financing | A lease that keeps running after the software ends |
| 5 | Do I have to use your card processing? | Payment processing addendum | Software only works with their processing |
| 6 | Can processing rates or fees change during the term? | Processing schedule; changes to fees | Rates can change on notice, but you can’t leave |
| 7 | Is there a per-order fee, a commission or a fee charged to guests? | Fee schedule | A percentage of sales, or a guest fee printed on your checks |
| 8 | Can the subscription price rise during the term, and with how much notice? | Fees; changes to the agreement | Increases at any time, with no right to leave |
| 9 | What is the price unit: per location, per device, per table, or capped by orders? | Order form; plan limits | Caps you will pass on a busy month |
| 10 | What do setup, menu loading, QR codes and training cost? | Order form; onboarding | Onboarding sold as optional, then needed |
| 11 | What happens when the free trial ends? | Trial terms | Converts to a paid term without a clear yes from you |
| 12 | How do I get my data out when I leave, in what format, and for how long? | Data; termination | No export, or export only on request at a fee |
One more worth asking: who do I call during a Saturday service, and how fast do they answer? A support promise that is not in the agreement is a hope, not a term.
How long are restaurant POS contracts, and what about Toast?
Short answer: it depends on the vendor and the deal, so read the agreement you are offered. We could not read Toast’s terms ourselves.
“Toast contract length” is one of the most searched questions about restaurant software. We can’t answer it from Toast’s own pages: its pricing and product pages returned an error to our checks on 15 Oct 2026, and its help pages give no price or term. Third-party blogs quote figures, but we don’t repeat numbers we can’t trace to the vendor.
What Toast’s help pages do show is how its table ordering is built. To get Toast Mobile Order & Pay orders to the kitchen, “designate an auto-firing device in the restaurant”, and items follow Toast’s routing to printers or kitchen screens. Guests pay on their phones by card, Apple Pay or Toast gift cards (Toast FAQs, updated 17 Sep 2026). In other words, it runs inside Toast’s POS and Toast’s payments. For any POS-based ordering tool like that, questions 4, 5 and 6 matter most, because the hardware, the processing and the ordering come as one package.
If you already use Toast and want to leave, read the termination clause, check whether your devices are owned or financed, and check whether processing has its own agreement. Our Toast Mobile Order & Pay alternatives post covers what to use instead, and WaiterPilot vs Toast compares the two directly.
What do published terms look like? Six vendors as published on 15 Oct 2026
Short answer: they vary a lot, and several leave the key terms off the public page.
These are copied from each vendor’s own pages as published on 15 Oct 2026. They change, so check again before you decide. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the page we read, not that it doesn’t exist.
| Vendor | Price as published (15 Oct 2026) | Terms we could read | Not stated on the page we read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Square for Restaurants (US) | Free $0, Plus $49, Premium $149 per location a month; QR code ordering on Plus and Premium | Free 30-day trial on Plus and Premium; “you can cancel or switch plans anytime”; in-person card rates 2.6%+15¢, 2.5%+15¢, 2.4%+15¢; kitchen screen app $30 or $20 a month per device | Which card rate applies to QR orders |
| MENU TIGER | Free US$0, Regular US$17, Advanced US$46, Premium US$119 a month; order caps of 75, 500 and 2,000 a month below Premium | “No setup fees. No commission per order. Upgrade or cancel anytime”; “No credit card required”; Cloud POS add-on $30 and printer management $20 a month on Regular and Advanced | |
| Ordder | Starter $29, Professional $79, Enterprise $199 a month | 30 days free on every plan; “A year costs ten months”; its terms say “Ordder will charge a service fee to clients (not merchants) of 1% on processed transaction volume”, unless stated in writing | Contract length and cancellation |
| Owner.com | Flexible $249 a month plus a 5% restaurant fee per order; Flat Rate $499 a month | Guests pay a 5% order support fee on both plans; month-to-month | |
| sunday | Standard $199, Premium $299 a month | “Q.R. Code $5 / QR code”; physical onboarding “Optional $299” | Whether prices are per location; processing fee |
| Toast Mobile Order & Pay | Not public (pricing pages returned an error) | Needs a Toast device to fire orders; guests pay through Toast | Price and term |
Ordder’s 1% line is quoted exactly because its wording is unclear; ask Ordder how it applies to you. Sources: Square, MENU TIGER, Ordder pricing and terms, Owner.com, sunday. For a side-by-side of features as well as price, see our comparisons.
What does a long term really cost if you leave early? A worked example
Short answer: in this example, leaving a 36-month deal after one year costs $3,720, before any difference in card fees.
Casa Olivo is a fictional restaurant (an example, not a customer). “Vendor X” is hypothetical, not a real company, and every term below is an assumption chosen to show the arithmetic.
The assumptions.
- Vendor X charges $150 a month for software on a 36-month term.
- The early termination fee is 50% of the software fees left in the term.
- Hardware is leased separately at $80 a month for 36 months, and the lease can’t be cancelled.
- Vendor X requires its own card processing at a rate 0.2 percentage points higher than Casa Olivo’s current processor.
- Casa Olivo takes $60,000 a month on cards.
Leaving after 12 months.
| Line | How it’s worked out | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Early termination fee | 24 months left × $150 × 50% | $1,800 |
| Hardware lease still owed | 24 months × $80 | $1,920 |
| Exit cost | $3,720 |
And the cost of staying, from processing alone. 0.2% × $60,000 = $120 a month, or $1,440 a year. Over the full 36 months that is $4,320 on top of the software, paid whether the tool is earning its place or not.
The point is not the numbers, which are invented for the example. It is that questions 3, 4 and 5 can be worth more than the monthly price you compared. Put your own figures in the same three lines for every vendor on your shortlist. For the per-order side of the bill, flat fee vs commission works through three restaurants, and our cost calculator does it with your own sales.
How should you test before you commit?
Short answer: on real busy services, with the agreement already read, and with a written go or no-go rule.
A free trial only protects you if you know what happens when it ends (question 11) and you have measured something during it. Our guide to judging a 30-day ordering trial gives a week-by-week plan and a scorecard. Two rules make the trial useful:
- Read the agreement before day one, so the trial tests the tool and not your patience with the paperwork.
- Decide what “go” means before you start, such as a target for how fast first orders are confirmed or waiter calls are answered, and hold the tool to it on day 30.
If you are comparing several QR ordering tools, the restaurant QR buyer’s checklist covers the product questions that sit next to these contract ones.
How does WaiterPilot answer the 12 questions?
Short answer: no contract, no hardware, no processing and 0% commission, but some things are not published yet, and we say which.
| # | Question | WaiterPilot’s answer |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Term | No contract. $200 per location per month after 30 days free, or $2,000 per location per year on the annual plan, paid annually. |
| 2 | Automatic renewal and notice | Restaurants use WaiterPilot under a service agreement. Ask for it before you start and read how notice works. |
| 3 | Leaving early | No contract to get out of on the monthly plan. We haven’t published refund terms for the annual plan on our site; ask us to confirm them in writing before you pay. |
| 4 | Hardware | None to buy. Guests use their own phones; staff use phones or tablets you already have. |
| 5 | Card processing | Not involved. WaiterPilot takes no payments; guests pay your staff as today, and your card fees stay with your processor. |
| 6 | Processing rate changes | Not applicable, for the same reason. |
| 7 | Per-order fees | 0% commission on orders. |
| 8 | Price rises | The service agreement sets the terms; ask for it. Prices on the pricing page are dated. |
| 9 | Price unit | Per location. |
| 10 | Setup | Free: we load your menu, provide QR cards and train your staff. |
| 11 | End of the trial | 30 days free. We confirm the start date in writing; from day 31 you pay only if you keep it. |
| 12 | Your data on exit | Not published yet. Owners see their reports on the owner page, such as busy hours and top dishes, but we have not published a data export or deletion process. Ask us in writing if you need one. |
| + | Support | We have not published a support response time. |
Two limits belong in any honest comparison. WaiterPilot has no POS or kitchen-printer connection, so staff ring orders into your till by hand if you use one; see how it works with your POS. And it takes no payments, so if you want guests to pay at the table from their phones, a pay-at-table or POS-based tool fits that job better.
What to do next
- Ask every vendor on your shortlist for the full agreement and the fee schedule, in writing.
- Fill in the 12-question table for each one, citing the clause.
- Work out the exit cost after 12 months, as in the example above.
- Run the free trial on busy nights with your go or no-go rule written down.
To see WaiterPilot’s offer in full, read the pricing page. To see the product before you read any paperwork, try a sample order.
Questions readers ask
How long is a Toast POS contract?
We can't tell you from Toast's own pages: its pricing and product pages returned an error when we checked on 15 Oct 2026, and its help pages give no term. Ask Toast for the full agreement and read the term, renewal and termination clauses before you sign.
How do I cancel my restaurant POS contract?
Find the termination clause in your agreement first: it sets the notice you must give, the date notice is due and any early termination fee. Then check whether hardware is leased or financed, and whether a separate card processing agreement has its own exit terms. Give notice in writing and keep a copy.
What hidden fees should I look for in restaurant software?
Per-order fees or commission, fees charged to guests, card processing rates, per-device add-ons such as kitchen screens, setup or onboarding fees, charges for QR codes, and early termination fees. Ask for every fee in one written list, with how each one can change.
Is a month-to-month restaurant software plan better than an annual one?
Month-to-month costs more per month but lets you leave when the tool stops earning its place. An annual plan saves money if you are sure you'll stay. Run the free trial on real busy nights first, then decide.
Can I get my data back if I leave a restaurant software vendor?
Only if the agreement says so. Ask what data you can export, in what format, and for how long after you leave. WaiterPilot has not yet published a data export process, so ask us in writing if you need one.
Does WaiterPilot have a contract?
No. After 30 days free it is $200 per location per month, or $2,000 per location per year on the annual plan, with no setup fee and 0% commission. Restaurants use it under a service agreement; ask for it before you start.
Sources
- Toast Mobile Order & Pay FAQs, Toast, 2026-09-17 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Square for Restaurants pricing, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- MENU TIGER pricing, MENU TIGER, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Ordder pricing, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Ordder terms and conditions, Ordder, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Owner.com pricing, Owner.com, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- sunday pricing, sunday, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
