Explainers
What does a restaurant POS do, and what doesn't it do?
A restaurant POS rings up orders, sends tickets to the kitchen, takes or records payment and keeps the sales records. What it usually leaves to other tools.
WaiterPilot Editorial
Updated , 7 min read
The short answer
A restaurant POS (point of sale) is the till: it records each order, sends tickets to the kitchen, takes or records payment, applies tax and keeps the sales reports your accountant needs. Guest-side ordering and talking with guests in their own language are usually add-ons or other tools. WaiterPilot is not a POS; it runs next to one.
Key points
- A POS is software plus hardware: a terminal or tablet, a card reader, and usually kitchen printers or screens.
- Its core jobs are the order record, kitchen routing, payment, tax and the end-of-day reports.
- Guest ordering from the table is usually a paid module: Square lists QR code ordering on its $49 Plus and $149 Premium US plans, not its free plan (as published 15 Oct 2026).
- WaiterPilot is not a POS: it takes no payment, keeps no tax records and has no POS link, so staff enter phone orders in the till.
- If your POS works, you can add table ordering next to it rather than replacing it.
On this page
A restaurant POS (point of sale) is the till. It records each order against a table, sends the tickets to the kitchen, builds the bill, takes or records payment, applies tax, and produces the sales reports your accountant needs. Some POS plans can also take orders from guests’ phones or send them to a kitchen screen, usually as paid add-ons. What a POS rarely does out of the box is talk with guests: answer their questions about the menu, in their own language, at the table. WaiterPilot is not a POS. It handles that conversation and runs next to whatever till you have. This guide explains what a POS does, what it doesn’t, what it costs where prices are published, and how the two fit together.
What is a POS system in a restaurant?
Short answer: software plus hardware that records every sale and moves each order from the table to the kitchen to the payment.
A restaurant POS usually has five parts:
- The software, where the menu, prices, tax rates, tables and staff logins live.
- A terminal or tablet where servers and cashiers enter orders.
- A card reader for payments, often tied to the POS company’s own payment processing.
- Kitchen printers or screens that receive each order.
- A back office with reports, menu editing and, often, links to accounting or payroll.
Restaurant POS systems differ from shop tills in a few ways: they track tables and seats, hold open checks for the length of a meal, route items to different kitchen stations, and handle courses, modifiers (“no onions”) and split bills.
How does a POS system work in a restaurant?
Short answer: order in, ticket to the kitchen, bill builds, payment out, report at close.
| Step | What happens in the POS | Who does it |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Seat the table | Open a check against a table number | Host or server |
| 2. Take the order | Enter dishes and modifiers on the terminal | Server |
| 3. Send to the kitchen | Each item goes to the right printer or screen | The POS, by routing rules |
| 4. Add more | Drinks, desserts, extra rounds go on the same check | Server |
| 5. Present the bill | The POS adds tax and any service charge set up | Server |
| 6. Take payment | Card, cash or split; the POS records it | Server or cashier |
| 7. Close the day | Sales, tax, payment and tip totals for the shift | Manager |
Each step leaves a record, which is the point: the POS is how you know what you sold, what you’re owed and what tax you owe.
What does a restaurant POS do well?
Short answer: the money and the records.
| Job | What it means | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Order record | Every item, price and modifier, against a table and a server | You know what was sold and by whom |
| Kitchen routing | Items go to the right station’s printer or screen | Cooks see only their part of the order |
| Payment | Card, cash, split checks, refunds | Money is taken and recorded in one place |
| Tax | Rates applied per item or per bill | The tax you collect matches what you report |
| Reports | Sales by hour, dish, server and payment type | Pricing, staffing and menu decisions |
| Menu control | Prices, modifiers, items switched off | One place to change the menu |
| Staff | Logins, permissions, often clock-in | Accountability for voids and discounts |
These are the jobs to protect. Whatever you add to your POS should not make any of them harder.
What doesn’t a POS usually do?
Short answer: the guest’s side of the conversation.
Out of the box, a POS is built for staff. Things it often leaves to add-ons or other tools:
- Ordering from the guest’s phone. Usually a paid module. Square lists “QR code ordering” on its Plus ($49) and Premium ($149) US plans per location per month, not its Free plan (Square, as published on 15 October 2026). Toast’s Mobile Order & Pay is part of Toast POS, and Toast says orders reach the kitchen through a designated auto-firing Toast device (Toast).
- The guest’s language. Toast devices offer English, Spanish, French and Simplified Chinese screens, but Toast says “menu names and items are not translated” (Toast). Square’s self-serve ordering page doesn’t state guest languages.
- Answering questions. “What’s spicy?”, “What comes with the lamb?” A tap menu shows descriptions; it doesn’t answer questions.
- Calling a waiter from the table. Some tools add it; it isn’t a standard POS job.
What guests say they want from technology at full-service restaurants is mostly about these edges: making paying easier and faster (30%) and ordering easier and faster (28%), then food details such as allergens (21%) and when the food will arrive (21%), according to the National Restaurant Association’s 2024 survey (NRA, 2024).
How much does a restaurant POS cost?
Short answer: it depends on the plan, the hardware and the card fees, and not every company publishes a price.
As published on 15 October 2026:
| POS | Software price | Card fees | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Square for Restaurants (US) | Free $0, Plus $49, Premium $149 per location per month | In person 2.6%+15¢, 2.5%+15¢, 2.4%+15¢; online 3.3%+30¢, 2.9%+30¢, 2.9%+30¢ (Free, Plus, Premium) | KDS app $30 a month per device on Plus, $20 on Premium; 30-day trial on paid plans |
| Lightspeed Restaurant | Starter 69, Essential 189, Premium 399 (USD; billing period not stated on the page) | Not stated | “Order and pay at table” listed on all three |
| Toast | Not published on pages we could read | Not published | Pricing pages returned an error to our checker on 15 and 16 October 2026; ask for a quote |
Add the hardware you need (terminals, card readers, printers or screens), and compare card fees on your real sales mix, since they grow with every sale while the software price stays flat. Prices differ by country.
Is WaiterPilot a POS?
Short answer: no. It takes orders at the table by chat and leaves the money and the records to your POS.
| Job | Your POS | WaiterPilot |
|---|---|---|
| Guest orders from their phone | Only with a QR module | Yes: guests scan the table’s QR code, the menu opens in the browser, no app |
| Guest asks questions in their own language | Not usually | Yes: chat answers from your menu, tested in English, Arabic and Spanish; buttons English or Arabic |
| Order record for your books | Yes | No: staff enter phone orders in the POS |
| Kitchen tickets | Printers or KDS | Its own kitchen screen on your phones or tablets; no printer link |
| Bill | Yes | A live bill on guests’ phones, with the tax and service charges you set |
| Payment | Yes | No: guests pay your staff on your terminal |
| Tax records and reports | Yes | No |
| Waiter call and check request | Not usually | Yes: reaches the floor screen within seconds, with cash or card |
The first order at each table waits for a staff member to confirm it on WaiterPilot’s board; later orders from that table go straight to the kitchen screen. Because there is no POS connection, someone enters each phone order in the till. That is the trade-off, and our cashier’s guide to reconciling QR orders with your till shows how restaurants handle it.
A worked example: one table, two systems
Casa Olivo is a fictional restaurant (an example, not a customer).
Table 9, four guests, two of whom read the menu better in Spanish.
- A guest scans the code and asks in Spanish what comes with the lamb. The chat answers in Spanish from the menu, and the table orders by chat and taps Confirm.
- The order waits on WaiterPilot’s board as Awaiting staff. Ana, the server, confirms it, and it shows on the kitchen screen.
- At the next quiet moment, Ana enters the four dishes on table 9’s check in the POS.
- Dessert is ordered from a phone and goes straight to the kitchen screen. Ana adds it to the POS check.
- A guest taps for the check and chooses card. Ana brings the card reader, checks the POS total against the live bill, and the POS takes the payment and prints the receipt.
The POS still does everything it did before: the record, the payment, the tax. WaiterPilot handled the conversation and the ordering. The cost is step 3 and the dessert entry in step 4.
How do you set up a restaurant POS? A day-one checklist
Whichever POS you use, these settings decide whether it helps or gets in the way:
- Menu with every dish, price and modifier, in the order servers think.
- Tax rates, and any service charge with a clear name.
- Tables that match the floor plan.
- Kitchen routing: which items go to which printer or screen.
- Staff logins and permissions for voids and discounts.
- Payment types, including split checks.
- An end-of-day close routine, written down.
What to do next
If your POS does the money and the records well, keep it. Then ask what’s missing at the table: guests waiting to order, questions servers can’t answer quickly, or guests who don’t read your menu’s language. If you want ordering from guests’ phones, check first whether your POS sells a QR module and at what price; our guide to what a small restaurant’s tech stack needs puts the decision in order. If the conversation is the gap, see how WaiterPilot works next to your POS, compare it with Toast, Square and others, or check pricing: $200 per location per month, 0% commission, no contract.
Questions readers ask
What is a POS system in a restaurant?
It is the restaurant's till: software on a terminal or tablet, with a card reader and usually kitchen printers or screens. It records every order, sends it to the kitchen, takes or records payment, applies tax and produces the sales reports.
How does a POS system work in a restaurant?
A server enters the order against a table, the POS sends each item to the right kitchen printer or screen, the bill builds up as the table orders, and at the end the POS takes or records payment. At close, it produces the day's sales, tax and payment totals.
Do I need a POS if I use QR ordering?
You need some way to take payment and keep sales records. Some QR tools are part of a POS and do both. WaiterPilot doesn't: it takes no payment and keeps no tax records, so it runs next to your POS or card terminal.
Can a POS take orders from guests' phones?
Many can, usually as a paid module. Square lists QR code ordering on its Plus and Premium US plans, and Toast sells Mobile Order & Pay as part of Toast POS. Check whether your plan includes it.
Is WaiterPilot a POS system?
No. WaiterPilot is an AI waiter for table ordering: guests order by chat from their phone and staff see the orders on WaiterPilot's screens. It takes no payment, has no POS link and doesn't replace your till.
What is the difference between a POS and a KDS?
The POS is the till that records orders and payments. A KDS, or kitchen display system, is a screen in the kitchen that shows the tickets the POS sends. Most POS companies sell a KDS as an add-on.
Sources
- Square for Restaurants pricing, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Self-serve ordering, Square, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Mobile Order and Pay Overview, Toast, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Toast Mobile Order & Pay FAQs, Toast, 2026-09-17 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Update the Language Setting on Your Toast Device, Toast, 2026-10-14 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Lightspeed Restaurant pricing, Lightspeed, 2026 (checked 2026-10-15)
- Restaurant Technology Landscape Report 2024, National Restaurant Association, 2024 (checked 2026-10-15)